12 Cats selected in NTFL squad

Wynyard’s Zac Smith was named in the NTFL representative squad. The cats had 12 players selected in the squad.WYNYARD has been rewarded for a stellar start to the 2012 season with a total of 12 players named in this year’s NTFL representative squad to take on the SFL next month.
HangZhou Night Net

Named in the initial squad is dynamic on- ballers Zac Smith and Rhys Phillips, defenders Cameron Betts, David Fitzpatrick, Clinton Stretton and Hamish Shaw, goal kicking machines Nick Hall and Nick Pearce, big men Sam Douglas, George Walker and Gregg Sharman along with exciting youngster Declan Moore.

“It is a just reward for their start to the year and a testament to the way their players have stepped up this season,” NTFL coach Dale Perry said.

“We’re confident we have put together the best side possible to defeat (the SFL) and that we haven’t left anyone out.

“We’ve got a good mix of height, pace and players who can be moved around, along with plenty of experience.

For East Devonport, coach Daniel Freshney has made the squad along with recruit Sam Rundle, Alex Baldock, Sam Borlini and Brodie Sheahan.

It is no secret there is ill feeling between Freshney and Perry given Freshney’s controversial switch to the Swans in the off season, but Perry wouldn’t be drawn into whether or not the two could put aside their differences in the lead-up to the game.

Despite not having played a game this season after undergoing shoulder surgery earlier in the year, Penguin’s Brad McDonald has been named in the squad along with 39-year-old ruckman Brad Davis.

“Brad (Davis) may be the oldest ruckman in the competition, but in my eyes he is one of the best,” Perry said.

“He has been exceptional this season and I’m looking forward to working with him again.

“As for Brad McDonald, he is an exciting player and even though he hasn’t played a game, I have no doubt he will be up and about.”

The usual suspects for Latrobe have again been named with Gavin Woodcock, Adam Jeffrey, Brodie Deverell and Josh Holland key inclusions, while Jacob Shaw has also been included this season.

While an initial squad of 36 has been announced, the final team will hinge on the Tasmanian Football Council’s under 23 state team.

A total of 15 players including Moore, Douglas, Pearce, Hall, Borlini, Baldock, Sheahan, Rundle, Shaw, Clint Riley, Jason Radford, Simon Vanderfeen, Josh Walmsley and Cameron Upton have been named in the under 23 side that will take on the NTFA in Launceston on May 20.

The NTFL versus SFL game will be played the day before on May 19.

This article first appeared in Hangzhou Night Net.

Comments are closed here.